Commenting on Facebook

This week our assignment was to post 6 comments online, 3 on Facebook and 3 online stories elsewhere.

Interestingly, the posts on Facebook proved much more challenging for me to carry out.  This came as a surprise to me because I often comment on stories and issues friends share on Facebook, as well as on photos or more personal posts.  In fact, I think that I am more inclined to comment or ‘like’ posts which are less exclusively personal, because they catch my attention more.

As I thought about it, I realized that the reason for this was probably because Facebook has become such a present part of my life that I comment when something catches my eye, as it often does.  Becoming hyper-aware of my needing to comment on something this week, I think my natural tendency to simply comment what was on my mind on Facebook was challenged.  This made me unsure what to write, in places where I think I would have commented anyways, with a lot less thought/worry.  This is not to say I don’t normally think about the things I commented before posting them, rather, I usually simply think about them in terms of the issue at hand.  This is because audience is less of focal point to my posts, since I already know my audience well, and am not trying to prove anything or present myself in any specific way.

First I commented on a status posted by a professor of mine linking to this story:
http://www.racialicious.com/2011/10/03/so-real-it-hurts-notes-on-occupy-wall-street/

She often uses her Facebook as a space to share interesting blogs and news stories she comes across, and this one caught my eye due to the #occupywallstreet obsession I will touch upon in my next blog post.  In addition to a link to the blog post, she also pulls a quote she find particularly striking… or a few quotes which she then posts as comments.  I was especially struck by one particular quote in the articel (one which she quoted in her own comment to her own post)
I wrote:
Rahel Mekdim Teka the comments on this (plus this piece in general) feel like the embodiment of all my mixed/conflicted feelings about #occupywallstreet… especially the first comment from Tennesse and “explaining racism in front of them: carefully and slowly spelling out that I as a women of color experience the world way differently than the author of the Declaration, a white man”
I guess that might mean I should feel conflicted.

Then, I commented on a friend from school’s link to this story:
http://auditthefedphonebomb.com/bailouts/federal-reserve-audit-exposes-major-securities-fraud-and-the-embezzlement-of-16-trillion-2/
(
http://presscore.ca/2011/?p=3279)
I commented:
Damn.  After trials on trials on trials, they could spend this all up.

Finally, I commented on a post on my cousin’s wall, posted by a friend of hers who I do not know.  She was linking my cousin to a vimeo page which contained a trailer for an upcoming film called “Miss Representation”:
http://www.vimeo.com/28066212
This was interesting because I knew I was commenting on something posted by someone I do not know.  This means that she would be getting a notification of my comment, not just stumbling upon it.  However, my post mostly just expressed interest in the movie as well as a response to my cousin’s (and her friend’s) point.  They wrote:

  • You and Martha Teka like this.
    • Paige Johnson Favorite line: “if people know that there were more women in government in countries like Afghanistan and Iraq…then people might get upset”

      Sunday at 5:40pm · Like · 1 person
    • Eden Checkol that’s cause “we’ve been choosing our national government from 6% of the country”. She’s so right. It amazes me that third world countries have advanced in giving women powerful positions yet one of the richest countries in the world still fails to do so. Thanks for sharing boo, we’ve gotta see it when it comes out

I wrote:
“So no matter what else a woman does, no matter what else her achievements, their value STILL depend on how they look”… This looks really interesting… I hadn’t heard anything about it.  Eden, I know it’s crazy… I wonder how much this movie will get into the media on a global scale… or will it be all US with other countries set up as vague counterpoints…

Overall, other than my heightened level of awareness during the Facebook posts (still trying to figure that one out)  I think the major difference between these posts and the one’s on other websites was the level of formality, and my level of comfort either being sarcastic and a little bit strident or being a bit personal in relating to these stories.

In the other comments I was a lot more careful to distance myself a bit (except the Rebel Diaz blog… but maybe that’s because it was a more informal post itself.

Leave a Reply

